Friday, February 9, 2018

The Others...Raider Nation

Was it the race you were looking for? Round 5 of the Monster Energy Supercross Championships did not disappoint inside the Black Hole of the Coliseum in Oakland, California. 

Qualifying times were surprisingly fast on a very technical track. Adam Cianciarulo’s 51.551 put his Pro Circuit Kawasaki in the top spot. The number 707 of Robin Kappel would take the final spot in the night show with his 57.367. In the 450 class it’d be Josh Greco’s 59.619 at the cutoff, while Justin Barcia put his Yamaha on the leaderboard with a 51.798.

250 class Heat Races were won by KTM’s Shane McElrath and and Star Yamaha backed Aaron Plessinger. We’d see privateers like Jean Ramos, Killian Auberson and Ryan Breece also make the transfer directly to the Main Event. Cole Seely and Justin Barcia took the 450 Heat wins, while an impressive 4th in Heat Two for Tyler Bowers put him in the 450 Main.

With one last shot, Husqvarna’s Mitchell Harrison took the 250 LCQ win. Chad Reed has been racing in a true privateer fashion with only himself listed as a sponsor. He’d win the 450 LCQ and join the Main Event field.

The man on a mission right now seems to be 250 class contender, Star Yamaha’s Aaron Plessinger. He’d work from a start outside of the top 5 to take the lead and fighting the flu could not hold him back from another series win. Joey Savatgy would take second, while defending series champ Justin Hill landed his first podium of the year. Just when you thought Eli Tomac was the guy in the 450 class, he’d once again manage a way to watch points slip away and although only five rounds in, his championship hopes are fading out of sight. A 13th in Oakland will not help his points chase. The Main Event looked like it would be Honda and Ken Roczen’s first win of the season but Jason Anderson wasn’t giving up until the checkers flew and would make a last lap pass stick for the win. Blake Baggett Would join the podium for his first time of the season as well, putting his Rocky Mountain KTM on the third step.

A big shoutout to Ben Lamay and Alex Ray who have made 5 of 5 450 Mains. In 250 action we are continually impressed by the 63 of Hayden Mellross. He’d land another top 10 finish in Oakland. 

Ben Lamay

Hayden Mellross

And now...The Others

  1. 141 Robbie Wageman 
  2. 53 Brad Taft
  3. 149 Tallon Lafountaine 
  4. 321 Bradley Lionnet 
  5. 170 Michael Leib 
  6. 707 Robin Kappel
  7. 817 Jason Clermont 
  8. 424 Tyler Custer
  9. 427 Deegan Vonlossberg 
  10. 952 Ludovic Macler 
  11. 160 Jess Petrie
  12. 122 Chris Howell 
  13. 383 Casey Brennan 
  14. 71 Josh Mosiman 
  15. 138 Blake Lilly 
  16. 188 Gage Schehr 
  17. 77 Ryan Surratt 
  18. 52 Mitchell Oldenburg 

  1. 84 Scott Champion
  2. 12 Jake Weimer
  3. 722 Adam Enticknap 
  4. 262 Connor Pearson 
  5. 78 Ronnie Stewart 
  6. 80 AJ Catanzaro 
  7. 447 Deven Raper 
  8. 981 Austin Politelli 
  9. 330 Cade Autenrieth 
  10. 214 Vann Martin 
  11. 73 Brandon Scharer 
  12. 86 Dylan Merriam 
  13. 509 Alex Nagy 
  14. 976 Josh Greco 
  15. 90 Dakota Tedder 
  16. 526 Colton Aeck 
  17. 211 Tevin Tapia
  18. 48 Henry Miller 

Next week we will show appreciation to the armed forces with military appreciation. Keep an eye out for one off graphic and gear sets to honor the event.

-Kyle Pesci

No comments:

Post a Comment