Wednesday, October 11, 2017

The Others...Ironman

The final round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championships came in to Crawfordsville, Indiana with a 450 Champion to crown. Three guys had a shot and one man was there to play spoiler.

Photo: Kyle Pesci
As soon as the green flag flew on practice, there was only one thing being discussed. "This Jeffrey Herlings is for real." Wow.... that's it. The guy left the Netherlands and came over just days before the round to prepare for the upcoming USGP in Florida. A last minute decision to race Ironman as a chance to acclimate himself to America turned in to a fastest qualifying and 1-1 moto score kind of day. 

Behind Herlings it'd be the Kawasaki of Eli Tomac doing what needed to be done to win his first 450 motocross championship. The daily results may not have been as liked (5-6) but the outcome remained the same and a champion, Tomac became. 

Photo: Kyle Pesci
The premier class would see an orange sweep as KTM riders of three separate teams Jeffrey Herlings, Marvin Musquin and Blake Baggett would respectively take the podium in the same order in both motos and the overalls.

Already crowned the 250 class champion, Zach Osborne was not done. The Husqvarna rider would go 1-1 for the overall victory with Adam Cianciarulo and Colt Nichols in tow to round out the podium.

Impressive rides by Nick Gaines, who scored a 10th in moto 2 onboard his Traders Yamaha and the number 105 of Steven Clarke who showed some serious speed but had lackluster results. We'd also like to note a top 10 qualifying time by Hunter Sayles on his number 367 KTM.

And now...The Others

  1. 105 Steven Clarke
  2. 231 Jayce Pennington 
  3. 355 Joey Crown
  4. 677 Cody Williams
  5. 570 Cody VanBuskirk
  6. 332 Jeremy Hand
  7. 130 Austin Root
  8. 645 Cheyenne Harmon 
  9. 904 Jarett Pesci
  10. 325 Cody Chisholm
  11. 700 Jimmy Weeks
  12. 924 Greg Durivage
  13. 716 Timothy Crosby 
  14. 421 Jesse Kirchmeyer
  15. 986 Lane Shaw
  16. 449 Dakota Kessler
  17. 202 Luke Hempen
  18. 509 Alex Nagy
  19. 657 Justin Wolf
  20. 731 Steve Roman
  21. 367 Hunter Sayles

  1. 77 Ben LaMay
  2. 125 Josh Mosiman
  3. 68 Heath Harrison 
  4. 921 Isaac Teasdale 
  5. 170 Zack Williams
  6. 718 Toshiki Tomita 
  7. 412 Jared Lesher
  8. 96 Vann Martin
  9. 606 Ronnie Stewart 
  10. 151 Dakota Tedder
  11. 351 Eric Grondahl 
  12. 993 Austin Wagner
  13. 270 Jacob Runkles 
  14. 154 Brandon Scharer 
  15. 282 Bubba Pauli
  16. 708 Joesph Perron
  17. 918 Michael Akaydin 
  18. 975 Jake Loberg
  19. 401 Samuel Redman
  20. 596 Carson Tickle
  21. 265 Nick Fratz-Orr

That's it for the 2017 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championships and now the wait is on for Monster Energy Supercross. Riders will switch teams, numbers will change and we will have some off season races starting with the Motocross Des Nations, followed up by the Monster Energy Cup.

-Kyle Pesci

Click on the banner to learn more about Spectro Oils and keep an eye out for their logo on your favorite privateers.

No comments:

Post a Comment