Tuesday, April 25, 2017

The Others...SLC

As a huge advocate for action sports, it makes sense to have Monster Energy Supercross make its return to Salt Lake City, Utah for Round 15 in the championship.

Rice-Eccles battlefield | Photo: AJ Catanzaro

The talk coming in to Utah was the tie between Monster Energy Kawasaki's Eli Tomac and RedBull KTM rider Ryan Dungey for the 450 class championship. Both would run the red plate signifying the points leader, yet only one can take it home this week. As they were in their own battle, another championship would be decided before nights end in the 250 West Regional division. 

Qualifying times are used to set the field and the tone for the evening. The track inside Rice-Eccles Stadium was tight and quick. The Kawasaki's of 250 rider Justin Hill and Eli Tomac  onboard a 450 would top their classes. The 450 class showed its talent with the top 8 getting their times into the 45 second range.

Heat races got started with a Martin Davalos 250 win aboard his Husqvarna. Heat two would be feature championship contenders Justin Hill, Shane Mcelrath and Aaron Plessinger. Plessinger and his Rockstar Yamaha would top the field.
In 450 heat racing it'd be "The Grizz" Josh Grant taking the win in Heat One and much like the 250 class, Heat Two was stacked with the championship favorites. Ryan Dungey got out front on his RedBull KTM quickly and was able to hold off the charging Kawasaki of Eli Tomac. In semi qualifiers it'd be the RM ATVMC ride of Davi Millsaps taking Semi One and Husqvarna's Dean Wilson with a last lap pass on Brayton to win Semi Two and punch his ticket to the Main.

As we all know, the Last Chance Qualifier races may be my favorite of the night. Action packed and privateers laying their heart on the line for a chance at the Main Event. During the 250 LCQ, Justin Starling put on a clinic by charging through the pack on his number 71 JMC Motorsports Husqvarna. Jon Ames, Stone Edler and Zac Commans would join the 250 field with transfer positions. The 450 LCQ would belong to the Smartop Motoconcepts number 61 of Vince Friese. Friese would lead the way followed by Angelo Pellegrini, who made his American debut and first Monster Energy Supercross Main Event. The final two transfer spots would go to Cycle Trader's Alex Ray and The Seven Deuce Deuce, Adam Enticknap. 

The Main Events are better than ever. The 250 gate dropped on a hungry field. There are at least six guys capable of winning yet their mistakes would hand the 250 West Championship to Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Justin Hill. Hill showed raw speed, confidence and consistency on the way to his number one plate. TLD RedBull KTM teammates Shane Mcelrath and Mitchell Oldenburg would go one and two respectively. We've heard the saying thrown around and Eli Tomac would show more signs in Utah, "Tomac is on another planet." His start had him outside the top ten while Ryan Dungey quickly put his KTM into the lead. No offense to any rider on the track but Tomac would then go into a video game like mode. That mode where you have tons of experience yet decide to play on the rookie setting. He gain on Dungey and eventually take the lead and run to a win. Dungey will keep the championship interesting with his second on the night. Jason Anderson would put his Husqvarna on the third and final podium step.

Alex Ray would make his eighth 450 Main Event of the year and match his season best with an 18th overall. The Cycle Trader rider currently sits 25th overall in the championship and has scored 12 points. Justin Starling was able to carry his momentum into the 250 main and finish the night 15th. Starling impressively sits 11th overall with 57 250SX West points.

Rider: Justin Starling | Photo: Zane courtway

And now...The Others 

  1. 137 Martin Castelo
  2. 388 Brandan Leith
  3. 211 Tecin Tapia 
  4. 138 Blake Lilly 
  5. 275 Johnny Jelderda 
  6. 321 Bradley Lionnet
  7. 424 Tyler Custer
  8. 262 Connor Pearson 
  9. 430 Dylan Summerlin
  10. 715 Kele Russell
  11. 283 Kai Mukai
  12. 154 Brandon Scharer
  13. 185 Damon Back
  14. 448 Broc Shoemaker
  15. 145 Travis Smith
  16. 571 Shawn Yarbrough
  17. 962 Dimitri Rolando 
  18. 87 Chris Howell

  1. 80 Cade Clason
  2. 606 Ronnie Stewart 
  3. 151 Dakota Tedder
  4. 447 Devin Raper
  5. 918 Michael Akaydin 
  6. 291 Kyle White
  7. 251 Kyle Gills
  8. 723 Tyler Enticknap
  9. 93 Josh Cartwright 
  10. 713 Chad Cook
  11. 740 Lane Staley 
  12. 645 Cheyenne Harmon 
  13. 313 Kyle Swanson
  14. 981 Austin Politelli 
  15. 976 Josh Greco
  16. 240 Bryce Stewart
  17. 662 Todd Bannister 
  18. 282 Bubba Pauli

After crowning the 250 West Region Champion, the series goes east one more time. Next up the racing invades Met Life Stadium in New Jersey. 

-Kyle Pesci

This Weeks "The Others" is brought to your by FXR Moto. Click the link to check out the new LIMITED Mission kit.

No comments:

Post a Comment