Monday, January 23, 2017

The Others...A2

Oh how brutal this sport can be. The series returned to Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California and from mid week track build up to the checkered flag, Round 3 of Monster Energy Supercross had fans on the edge of their seats and riders just trying to get through the night.

Anaheim Stadium | Photo: Eric Phalin
Rain rain, go away...and stay there! These first 3 rounds have been hell on track builds and the qualifying schedule. One thing for sure is the Dirt Wurx crew which is in charge of the dirt in the stadium can work miracles. On Friday the track was knee high in spots with water and by race time, we were treated to perfect racing conditions. For the third straight week riders would first take to the track for timed qualifying as the free sessions were cut from the program. Monster Energy Kawasaki's Eli Tomac topped the 450 class times and proved it's not his speed keeping him off the podium. In the 250 class it'd be Geico Honda backed Jeremy Martin with the fast time.

The hype heading back in to Anaheim was the perfect streak of both HRC rider Ken Roczen and Troy Lee Designs/KTM backed Shane Mcelrath. There was also a heavy buzz surrounding a new team in the pits. was back in the pits and made their debut with Malcolm Stewart. The rider known as Mookie would qualify 10th and go on to transfer direct to the main from his heat. He'd run as high as 9th but a late crash would end his night 18th.

Heat races in the 250 class were won by Yamaha backed Aaron Plessinger and Monster/Pro Circuit rookie Austin Forkner. Ken Roczen would keep his streak alive with a W in the first 450 heat. Heat two came with some chaos and to me a surprise winner, Davi Millsaps. The Rocky Mountain ATV/MC rider looked fast and strong as he held off teammate Blake Baggett. With podiums at the first two rounds, it was an unlikely sight seeing both KTM's of Marvin Musquin and Ryan Dungey in a semi qualifier. Marvin would win his semi while Weston Peick went on to win his. A rider not on the line after a heat race incident was Husqvarna's Jason Anderson. An argument turned to a flying hand in the tunnel and the 21 would be disqualified for his actions. When it came time for Last Chance Qualifiers it'd be Vince Friese with the 450 class win and the number 240 Yamaha machine of Bryce Stewart winning the 250 LCQ after leading every lap.

Rider: Bryce Stewart | Photo: Connor Moore
When the gate dropped on the 250 main event it'd be Austin Forkner out to an early lead but quickly passed by teammate, Justin Hill. Hill would slowly pull from the pack as Aaron Plessinger and Shane Mcelrath stayed steady for 2nd and 3rd respectively. In the 450 main event  Ryan Dungey would jump out front on his RedBull KTM and begin to do what Dungey does, throw down consistent lap after lap. As HRC backed Cole Seely was battling in 3rd his teammate, Ken Roczen was outside the top 10. Seely would move forward and around the 10 minute mark was being pressured by Roczen. A bobble over a triple would send the 94 flying off the bike and slamming to a season ending arm injury. Marvin Musquin would work his way to 2nd and Seely would hold on for the final podium step.

After transferring through his heat race, Noah McConahy would put his JMC Husqvarna in his first 250 main event of the season. The number 59 would be in loved in the first turn carnage that took down Jermey Martin and Phil Nicoletti. Noah then put his head down and charged to a career matching best finish of 13th. Noah came in to the season under the weather but looks to be finding his groove. Look for Noah near the top 10.

Rider: Noah McConahy | Photo: Connor Moore

And now...The Others

5. 797 Robin Kappel
6. 154 Brandon Scharer
7. 321 Bradley Lionnet
8. 95 AJ Catanzaro
9. 388 Brandan Leith
10. 262 Connor Pearson
11. 275 Johnny Jelderda
12. 60 Tristan Charboneau
13. 448 Broc Shoemaker
14. 795 Steven Tokarski
15. 976 Josh Greco
16. 203 Zac Commans
17. 805 Carlen Gardner
18. 526 Colton Aeck
19. 99 Chase Marquier
20. 383 Casey Brennan
21. 141 Robbie Wageman
22. 87 Chris Howell

5. 151  Dakota Tedder
6. 848 Joan Cros
7. 374  Cody Gilmore
8. 96 Vann Martin
9. 801 Jeff Alessi
10. 723 Tyler Enticknap
11. 509 Alex Nagy
12. 282 Bubba Pauli
13. 314 Alex Ray
14. 181  Dustin Pipes
15. 80 Cade Clason
16. 67 Jimmy Albertson
17. 792 Bracken Hall
18. 19 Justin Bogle
19. 291 Kyle White
20. 21 Jason Anderson
21. 981 Austin Politelli
22. 40 Fredrik Noren

One thing we do know is rain or shine, the track in Phoenix will be dry! The University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona will host Round 4 in a retractable roof stadium.

-Kyle Pesci

This weeks "The Others" is brought to you by Race Tech, Click on the photo and learn more about their conversion kits and all services offered that are Privateer Proven and available to you.

No comments:

Post a Comment