Sunday, January 24, 2016

The Others...Anaheim Two.

The showdowns in SoCal wrapped up as Round 3 of Monster Energy Supercross returned to Anaheim. An action packed night that turned into the same old, same old.

Photo: Killer Customz
Two words...Cooper Webb. This guy is a machine. I'm not sure he can be beat. Even with poor starts, he makes easy work of the field. The Star Yamaha would be on the top step of the podium for the third round in a row. Geico Honda's Christian Craig put up a fight early and showed some textbook block passing. His battle with Webb would allow Rockstar Husqvarna's Zach Osborne into the mix and he'd eventually make the pass for second. Webb, Osborne and Craig would respectfully claim the 250 class podium. 

KTM riders came out swinging in the 450 class. BTO rider Davi Millsaps took the checkers in heat one, just to be backed up by heat two win by RedBull KTM's Ryan Dungey. Dungey would go on to an impressive win in the main. A three way battle for second took place behind him between Yamaha's Chad Reed, Kawaski rider Eli Tomac and RCH front man Ken Roczen. Reed held to the pressure to finish second and a mistake by Tomac put Roczen on the final step of the box.

As the tracks get technical, the margin for mistakes is nearly eliminated. JMC Husvarna privateer, Noah McConahy made a fast run down the right side of the whoops and after being clipped caused a pile up in the LCQ. A bobble in a rhythm section caused Honda's Trey Canard to be landed on. He'd race bloody to make the nights main, just to find more bad luck and DNF the night. 

The whoops were big, the racing was bar to bar. Anaheim Two did not disappoint. 

A few privateers put in some solid rides. Spider Energy rider, Alex Ray came up one spot short of the 450 main. Dakota Tedder made his first 450 main on his Monster Energy backed Kawasaki. The Privateer Journey number 79 of Nick Schmidt used semi qualifier number one to put his Suzuki in the 450 main. He'd go on to finish 17th overall. TPJ has a sweet put setup and it's awesome to see another double digit guy throw down solid results. 

And now...The Others.

5. 65 Zach Bell
6. 772 Thomas Do
7. 252 Kevin Weisbruch 
8. 188 Dillan Epstein
9. 902 Killian Auberson 
10. 275 Johnny Jelderda 
11. 448 Broc Shoemaker 
12. 269 Carlos Fernandez
13. 203 Zach Commans 
14. 460 Jake Mohnike 
15. 383 Casey Brennan
16. 642 Nick Kouwenberg 
17. 941 Max Desprey
18. 82 Trevor Reis 
19. 96 Noah McConahy
20. 815 Iker Olano
21. 87 Austin Politelli
22. 127 Cole Thompson 

5. 314 Alex Ray
6. 447 Deven Raper
7. 722 Adam Enticknap 
8. 247 Teddy Parks
9. 761 Cade Clason
10. 918 Michael Akaydin
11. 509 Alex Nagy
12. 713 Chad Cook
13. 291 Kyle White
14. 619 Mark Weishaar 
15. 542 Johnnie Buller
16. 422 Phillip Klakow
17. 120 Todd Bannister
18. 745 Adrian Roman
19. 240 Bryce Stewart
20. 192 Beni Williams
21. 282 Bubba Pauli
22. 662 Travis Bannister

On a bad note. Killer Customz supporter, Michael Akaydin came up just short of making the main. His bike was in the tunnel while watching the final, and then the unthinkable. Michaels KTM 450SX-F was stolen right from the track. Photos are circulating of his bike in the bed of a white Ford F-150 and the license plate number was photographed. We are wishing the best for a true class act privateer. See more on Michael's Instagram: @akaydin918 

Michael Akaydin's KTM that was stolen.

The truck and plate number that the bike was spotted in.

-Kyle Pesci

No comments:

Post a Comment