Sunday, August 23, 2015

The Others...Ironman.

Out with a bang. Crawfordsville, Indiana played host for the final round of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship at Ironman Raceway. This would be the first time racers would see the track in prime conditions after Mother Nature made last years inaugural trip a mudder.

Photo: Jim McMillan 

The track was perfect. Multiple lines, rough, rutted, not to hot and dry. They were comparing this place to RedBud, and it really does have that feel. Great viewing and some awesome terrain. The technicality allowed for some great racing.

There were high expectations heading in to the final round. The 250 class championship was separated by just 2 points between Yamaha's Jeremy Martin and KTM rider Marvin Musquin. The 450 championship had already been wrapped up by KTM's Ryan Dungey, but it'd be the battle for 2nd between RCH rider Ken Roczen and Justin Barcia on his JGR Yamaha.

Gutted. That might be the only word I have to describe watching Marvin Musquin roll to a stop during the opening laps of moto 1. The look on his wife Mathilde's face. Marvin with his head on his seat. Gutted.

Jeremy Martin would cruise to the championship with a 20 point lead after moto 1. His 4-9 score would put him 6th overall and going home with the number 1 plate. Jeremy's Star Yamaha teammate Aaron Plessinger would go 2-1, earning his first moto win and overall. Pretty impressive for a rookie. Joey Savatgy stayed consistent on his Pro Circuit Kawasaki. 5-2 scores gave Joey 2nd overall on the day. 3-6 by Troy Lee KTM rider Jessy Nelson earned him 3rd overall.

Photo: Jim McMillan

The 450 class was exciting. The newly crowned champ, Ryan Dungey came out swinging in moto 1 and would take the win. The battle between Roczen and Barcia looked to be in full effect. Roczen put his head down and went to work after a start just inside the top 10 and would work his way to 3rd. Barcia would literally lose his pants and ride to a 7th in moto 1. Dungey took the overall on the day with 1-2 scores. A solid end to a great season. Roczen was 2nd overall, going 3-1. 3rd overall would go to Rockstar Husqvarna's Jason Anderson. Justin Barcia redeemed himself a little with a 3rd in moto 2, but would lose the battle for 2nd in the championship, falling 6 points shy of Roczen.

This week I've got to give it up to the number 450 of Hayden Mellross. The Australian rode to season best 13-14 moto scores for 13th overall in the 250 class. He finished up the season with 49 points and 20th overall in the championship. Great season Hayden!

Photo: Browndogwilson 

And now...The Others.

20. 128 Alex Frye
21. 77 Justin Starling
22. 963 Chase Marquier
23. 987 Matthew Babbitt
24. 31 Alex Martin
25. 353 Kody Kamm
26. 397 Brandon Scharer 
27. 677 Cody Williams
28. 449 Dakota Kessler
29. 904 Jarett Pesci
30. 358 Warren Nelson
31. 376 Chris Canning
32. 232 Jeremy Hand
33. 484 Dustin Creson
34. 189 Bryar Perry
35. 726 Gared Steinke
36. 325 Cody Chisholm
37. 243 Joey Dalzell
38. 89 Brady Kiesel
39. 74 Zack Williams
40. 126 Jordan Smith

20. 926 Kaven Benoit
21. 11 Kyle Chisholm 
22. 73 Gannon Audette
23. 92 Cade Clason
24. 69 Ronnie Stewart
25. 219 Shane Sewell
26. 685 Tucker Hibbert
27. 672 Seth Rarick
28. 464 Kyle Keast
29. 309 Jeremy Smith
30. 230 Travis Sewell
31. 298 Cody Gragg
32. 881 Jerry Lorenz III
33. 399 Broc Peterson
34. 285 Tony Archer
35. 901 Kenny Henry
36. 431 Teavis Marsh
37. 348 Jason Brooks
38. 393 Daniel Herrlein
39. 925 Andrew Pierce
40. 23 Weston Peick

That's a wrap. The Others will take a little break and the racing does. Can't wait for Supercross and the events in between. Congrats to Ryan Dungey and Jeremy Martin on their championships. 

To the privateers who have made these lists of "The Others" throughout the season, congrats. Qualifying for a Pro National is a huge deal. 

To those who ran the Killer Customz stickers throughout the season, THANK YOU. 

-Kyle Pesci

No comments:

Post a Comment