Thursday, January 23, 2020

The Others...Anaheim 2

Big news on the weekend was UFC fight night and the return of Conor McGregor, but inside Angel Stadium things we’re getting heated up as well for the third round of Monster Energy Supercross. 

Riders seem to be settling in to race pace and figuring that now is the time to start making moves to become relevant in the championship fights.

Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac and Star Yamaha rider Dylan Ferrandis would claim their first wins of the season although they were possibly the 450 and 250 class favorites respectively. Tomac’s came with raw speed but Ferrandis is hearing some noise after his win. His pass on Christian Craig has his placed on probation but he got his points and now has a valid shot at the 250 West Championship, just as it looked to be slipping away. The internet has been a brutal place since the finish of the 250 Main Event.

Our take on the CC and #1w incident. It sucked, it was racing, feel bad for CC, Dylan forced the issue, it wasn’t intentional.

Things we are pumped on:
-Alex Ray making his second consecutive 450 Main Event.
-Robbie Wageman 14th in the 250 Main Event and now sits 14th overall in the 250 West Championship.
-Tyler Bowers matched his A1 performance with a 17th and even after missing St. Louis, he’s the top privateer in the 450 Championship.

Rider: Tyler Bowers | Photo: Brandon Schlegel

Things we are not so pumped on:
-Cade Clason suffered a thumb injury that may sideline him a couple weeks.
-Benny Bloss needs to find some consistency.
-Bryce Stewart had some serious suspension issues and has been a Main Event guy before, put it in the night show kid!

And now...The Others

  1. 221 Mathias Jorgenson
  2. 216 Devin Harriman 
  3. 974 Brian Marty
  4. 427 Deegan Vonlossberg 
  5. 621 RJ Wageman 
  6. 112 Xylian Ramella
  7. 259 Corbin Hayes
  8. 311 Mitchell Gifford
  9. 446 Blaine Silveira 
  10. 246 Chance Blackburn 
  11. 181 Wyatt Lyonsmith
  12. 316 Dawson Newby
  13. 97 Chris Howell
  14. 193 Hunter Schlosser
  15. 120 Todd Bannister 
  16. 277 Kordel Caro 
  17. 929 Taiki Koga
  18. 154 Chase Felong

  1. 722 Adam Enticknap 
  2. 82 Cade Autenrieth 
  3. 53 Jimmy Decotis 
  4. 44 Kyle Cunningham 
  5. 43 John Short
  6. 447 Deven Raper 
  7. 56 Justin Starling
  8. 981 Curren Thurman 
  9. 92 Austin Politelli 
  10. 509 Alex Nagy 
  11. 330 AJ Catanzaro 
  12. 817 Jason Clermont 
  13. 976 Josh Greco 
  14. 114 Nick Schmidt 
  15. 86 Josh Cartwright
  16. 67 Jerry Robin
  17. 11 Kyle Chisholm
  18. 280 Cade Clason

-Kyle Pesci
Cheer Privateer

The Others...STL '20

The three weekend span from Round 1 to 3 will be quite a test for most privateers as  for the first time, the series makes a trip to St. Louis, Missouri for Round 2 of Monster Energy Supercross. 

Anaheim, STL, Anaheim will be racking up moto van mileage and test the wallets early with some supposed stadium conflicts due to football playoffs. This had FELD looking for a good venue for the second stop. The Dome at America’s Center was available and a Monster Jam event in the following week made the dirt accessible. So to the East...Um, West we headed.

Adam Cianciarulo continues his qualifying dominance as he’s now 4 for 4 as fast qualifier in the 450 class sessions.

We were pumped to see a couple things in  the STL. Great dirt for one! Local guy Bubba Pauli made his first 450 Night Show of the season in front of his hometown crowd. Mark Weishaar hasn’t raced a professional Monster Energy Supercross is a couple years and was able to put his Yamaha YZ250F into the night show. 

Rider: Bubba Pauli | Photo: Brandon Schlegel

The internet has been filled with people convinced that Chad Reed is wasting his time out there. The guy made the 450 Main Event yet again. There were 18 other guys chasing that same goal whom had to pack it up early and watch from the stands. Should we tell those guys to hang it up? Chad still has amazing speed. Keep going Two Two! 

Huge props to Jacob Hayes this week. The number 45 Gas Monkey Husqvarna rider went on to finish 6th in the 250 Main Event and now sits 7th overall in the championship. Also a quick shout out to Cheyenne Harmon who transferred directly to the 250 Main Event with an 8th in his Heat Race. 

Although not a privateer, this guy needs a huge congrats. Ken Roczen, you’re a legend. I’ve stood next to this guy at races and watched him struggle to grip a water bottle or take off his own coat. I’ve told myself there’s no way he could ever be back to the top level of these athletes. The guy is not human and continues to get better and stronger, and then....He wins the St. Louis 450 Main Event. WOW! 

And now...The Others

  1. 284 Lorenzo Camporese
  2. 621 RJ Wageman 
  3. 97 Chris Howell
  4. 216 Devin Harriman
  5. 112 Xylian Ramella
  6. 120 Todd Bannister 
  7. 154 Chase Felong
  8. 221 Mathias Jorgenson
  9. 974 Brian Marty
  10. 246 Chance Blackburn 
  11. 246 Chance Blackburn 
  12. 538 Addison Emory
  13. 311 Mitchell Gifford  
  14. 277 Kordel Caro 
  15. 395 Charl Van Eeden
  16. 88 Logan Karnow 
  17. 619 Mark Weishaar
  18. 929 Taiki Koga

  1. 92 Austin Politelli 
  2. 332 Dustin Winter
  3. 86 Josh Cartwright
  4. 848 Joan Cros
  5. 393 Daniel Herrlein 
  6. 280 Cade Clason
  7. 70 Dylan Merriam 
  8. Bubba Pauli
  9. 570 Cody VanBuskirk 
  10. 412 Jared Lesher
  11. 230 Joel Wightman
  12. 330 AJ Catanzaro 
  13. 509 Alex Nagy 
  14. 824 Carter Stephenson
  15. 526 Colton Aeck 
  16. 981 Curren Thurman
  17. 501 Scotty Wennerstrom 
  18. 31 Fredrik Noren

-Kyle Pesci
Cheer Privateer